Just another WordPress site


‘A splash ceremony on a new course?’ The first major of the LPGA season, the Chevron Championship opens on the 20th

The Chevron Championship, the first major tournament of the LPGA Tour season, famous for its unique ceremony in which the winner jumps into a pond, will be held on a new course. This competition, which was held in Mission Hills, California for 40 years, has been moved to Carleton Woods, Texas from this year, and attention is focusing on whether the ‘Pond Entry Ceremony’ or so-called ‘Lady of the Lake’ will be seen again.

The Chevron Championship (total prize money of 5.1 million dollars), the first major tournament of the US LPGA tour season, will be held at The Club Carlton Woods (par 72, 6824 yards) in Woodlands, Texas, USA from the 20th (Korean time). Before Chevron took over as the title sponsor last year, Nabisco and ANA sponsored the tournament at the Mission Hills course in California. Chevron took over as sponsor last year, and the name of the tournament was changed, and this year, the venue was also changed.

Since 1988, the ceremony in which the winner jumps into the pond next to the 18th hole with a caddy has been famous, so I wonder what kind of scene will be produced at this year’s tournament, where the venue has been changed. A total of six Korean players became the protagonists of this ceremony. Starting with Park Ji-eun in 2004, Yoo Seon-young (2012) Park In-bi (2013) Yoo So-yeon (2017) Ko Jin-young (2019) Lee Mi-rim (2020) became the Lady of the Lake with the championship.

Since it is a major tournament, most of the strong players will participate.

The competition between Lydia Ko, Nellie Corda,카지노사이트 and Ko Jin-young, who are ranked 1st to 3rd in the world, is attracting attention, and Jeon In-ji, a “major powerhouse” who will achieve the Career Grand Slam if she wins this tournament, is also noteworthy. Kim Hyo-joo, who has consistently maintained a high ranking this season, and Ryu So-yeon, the previous winner, are also candidates for the championship.

2019 champion Ko Jin-young was drawn in the same group as 21-year-old champion Tabatana and 22-year champion Jennifer Cupcho in the same group for the first and second rounds. Ryu So-yeon will play Hanzo with Lilia Bu and Hataoka Nasa, and Jeon In-ji will play Nelly Koda and Min-ji Lee.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts