Just another WordPress site

French press ‘Messi overtime goal invalid’… Allegations of Violation of FIFA Rules

The French press claimed that Messi’s goal in the second half of extra time was null and void in the Qatar World Cup final where the famous match unfolded.

France’s Le Quipe said on the 19th (Korean time), ‘Messi’s goal in extra time should not have been recognized according to the rules. Argentine players who were already on the bench entered the field before the ball went into the goal.” Argentina won the World Cup for the first time in 36 years by winning 4-2 in a penalty shoot-out after drawing 3-3 with France through extra time.

The media argued that Messi’s goal was invalid and presented it based on Article 3, Paragraph 9 of the rules of the game of the International 안전놀이터 Football Federation (FIFA). “If a goal is scored with extras on the pitch, play must be restarted with a direct free kick from where the extras were,” said Le Quiff.

Argentina took the lead again with Messi’s goal in the 3rd minute of the second half of extra time in the midst of a slugfest against France in the Qatar World Cup final. Lautaro Martinez, who penetrated the right side of the penalty area, hit a right-footed shot, but goalkeeper Lloris cleared it, and Messi finished it again with a shot in front of the goal. French defender Kunde cleared Messi’s shot from inside the goal, but the ball had already crossed the goal line. The players who were watching the game from the Argentine bench already entered the field the moment Messi fired. The players on the Argentine bench rushed into the field when Messi’s shot did not go into the goal, and after the goal was recognized, they ran across the field with his teammates to celebrate the goal.

Le Quiff reiterated that ‘some Argentine players, who were emotional when Messi hit the shot after Lloris’ save, were already on the field ready to celebrate’, and that it was a ‘strictly forbidden action’.